Car owners in Nigeria and the whole of Africa may not yet enjoy full features of Google’s Android as no country on the continent was listed while Google pushes the application into 18 new countries.

Android Auto, announced in 2014 and released on March 19, 2015 is a smartphone projection standard, which allows mobile devices running the Android operating system, particularly version 5.0 to be operated in automobiles through the dashboard’s head unit.

Google on Tuesday boosted the number of countries in which Android Auto is available, pushing the total to 28.

Drivers in these countries can pair their device with their car’s dashboard unit and access select features, such as maps, music, and search.

Android Auto is already available in Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, New Zealand, Spain, the UK, and the US.

Google nearly tripled the number of countries with the addition of 18 new areas, which include Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, India, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Russia, Switzerland, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

Adding Russia and India makes the service available to more than one billion new people. Further, Android Auto is now available throughout much of South America. That is, if the car supports it.

The selection of brands that have voiced support for Android Auto is decent. It includes Abarth, Acura, Alfa Romeo, Audi, Bentley, Buick, Cadillac, Chevrolet, Chrysler, Citroen, Dodge, DS, Fiat, Ford, Genesis, GMC, Holden, Honda, Hyundai, Infiniti, Jaguar, Jeep, Kia, Lamborghini, Land Rover, Mahindra, Maserati, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Opel, Peugeot, Renault, Skoda, Subaru, Suzuki, Vauxhall, Volkswagen, and Volvo. About half of these manufacturers have launched cars with Android Auto aboard.

SOURCE: Guardian news

More from MyMoto!

ALSO READ  Volvo replaces Car key with phone